Port-au-Persil (Secteur de Saint-Siméon)
The hamlet of Port-au-Persil is a member of l’Association des plus beaux villages du Québec. Owing to an important quantity of native sea parsley, Port-au-Persil was given its name by Samuel de Champlain in 1626. Sea parsley is also known as Scottish lovage.
Port-au-Persil was founded by Scotch immigrant Neil McLaren in the late XIXth century. Port-au-Persil Chapel is without a doubt the locale’s most iconic photo site. On the rocky craggs that plunge to the river’s edge is where the Protestant chapel was built in 1893, by John McLaren.
The view from Port-au-Persil Pier is another favourite among photographers who with the seasons, enjoy capturing their own unique image of the chapel, whether set against a spectacular backdrop by the light of the moon, or as the day comes up over the river’s vast, troubling waters.