Pointe-au-Pic (Secteur de La Malbaie)
Down by the riverside on the south-western approach to La Malbaie, Pointe-au-Pic owes its name to a point dominated by a mountain (pic). Over two hundred years ago, North-America’s high society flocked to this vacation destination then referred to as Murray Bay. This designation dates back to the War of the Conquest and a time when La Malbaie Seignory was split in two, with Rivière Malbaie marking the respective halves. The portion to the east of the river was hence named Mount Murray, whereas the western section was called Murray Bay.
Pointe-au-Pic’s history is closely linked to the history of resort vacationing in the Charlevoix. Deep in the heart of Saguenay cruise country, once upon a time Pointe-au-Pic was visited by countless summer vacationers who travelled here by boat. The white ships, as they were then called, comprised the glorious fleet of the Richelieu & Ontario Steamship Line, later the Canada Steamship Lines.
By 1853, a raised pier allowed boat passengers to disembark and be welcomed on land. Located near today’s Train touristique de Charlevoix Station, Pointe-au-Pic Pier offers visitors who are keen on discovering the Charlevoix and its many fascinating landscapes the promise of intermodal travel in the near future.
In Pointe-au-Pic’s Harbour district, le Musée de Charlevoix invites travellers to admire an extensive art collection which is spotlighted in a series of permanent and temporary exhibits.
Every year, Pointe-au-Pic’s Harbour district sets the stage for a simply magical music and fireworks display – The Ode to Winter – that focuses on the awesome splendour of the Charlevoix’s winter landscape.