Les Éboulements is a member of l’Association des plus beaux villages du Québec. The village, dedicated to farming and forestry, sprawls across immense plateau highlands. Les Éboulements offers scenery of stunning beauty, and grandiose views of the river with Isle-aux-Coudres in the forefront, at the base of the mountain.
A tormented land if ever there was, Les Éboulements’ name recalls the earthquake of 1663, when a major landslide plunged from a high mountain plateau down to the river’s edge, where Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive lies today. It was also in this municipality where 360 million years ago, a meteorite that struck the Charlevoix found its point of impact. Referred to as the Charlevoix impact crater, it created a very noticeable mountain ridge on the outskirts of town.
Les Éboulements is also very rich in history. Built in the late XVIIIth century, Les Éboulements seignorial manor was also the site of the village flour mill. Still in operation, the mill sits at the intersection of Grande Côte (to Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive) and Route du Village (Route 362). Open to visitors throughout the summer months, the mill is a lasting testimonial to the era of the seignorial regime which, after its abolition in 1859, yielded to municipal governance.